Six Sigma Certification Requirements

There is no singular governing body for Six Sigma, so each certification body you encounter will have a different policy on the requirements to receive a Six Sigma certification.  For MSI certification, the following definition applies.

The passing of a timed skill assessment exam to determine competency of a specific subject.  Certification knowledge level for exams is demonstrated to the Bloom’s Taxonomy level of Apply, unless otherwise noted in the Six Sigma Quality Standards (SSQS) or Process Improvement Credentialing Standards (PICS) requirement for specific skills regarding that credential.  Upon passing of the MSI exam, the credential is issued as a certification for a period of 3-years.

Renewal of your Six Sigma certification through the Management and Strategy Institute is free.  You can register for free renewal here.  MSI also offers a low-cost paid renewal option for those who would like updated paperwork.  You can register for the paid option here.  If the credential is not renewed, the certification becomes a lifetime certificate. At that point, the credential holder may no longer use the associated post-nominals after their name. Certifications can be renewed at any time after they have expired by completing the required renewal packet.  The Management and Strategy Institute does not require an external project for certification.  The Six Sigma Black Belt and Six Sigma Green Belt certifications include a project simulation (GBsim™ or BBsim™) that you will go through before accessing the certification exam.

Six Sigma Certification Cost
Costs for certification through the Management and Strategy Institute are as followed:

  • Six Sigma Black Belt, $299.95
  • Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, $299.95
  • Six Sigma Green Belt, $199.95
  • Lean Six Sigma Green Belt, $199.95
  • Six Sigma Yellow Belt, $99.95
  • Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt, $99.95

Six Sigma Certification Levels
The Management and Strategy Institute offers all certification levels, from White Belt through Master Black Belt.  MSI also offers specialty industry-specific certifications as well as 5S, TPM, TQM, and Continuous Improvement.